Potato Pete

I just can’t help it, every time I think of chitting my potatoes, or indeed potatoes in general, in my head I hear the Potato Pete song.  In particular the rousing “Potatoooooooooooo, Potatooooo’, near the end of the song.  Honestly, you will have this song in your head EVERY time someone says potato from now on.

I apologise in advance if you have this in your head forever now.  Anyway, it is chitting time.  I have two kinds of potatoes at the moment, my first earlies and second earlies.  I’m not entirely sure why I didn’t buy my maincrop at the same time, but that can be an exciting garden center trip sometime.  And a little birdie told me that maincrop don’t necessarily need to be chitted, it just gives the earlier crops a little head start.

So the varieties I have so far are:

First Earlies – Maris Bard
Second Earlies – Wilja

img_3875

No particular reason other than in my research I wrote down a list of earlies and second earlies that gave lots of good sized potatoes, then at the potato seed shop I looked for the ones on the list and these just so happened to be the ones they had.  After I had bought these, I saw a list of the types of crops that were used in the Dig For Victory campaign, so I will try and find a ‘vintage’ variety for my maincrop.

I’ve never had much luck with potatoes hence choosing ones that will hopefully produce lots of good sized potatoes.  So if anyone has any tips please comment!  All I have ever grown are a few tiddlers.

img_3876

Since getting my ‘plot’ I have been really interested in the Dig For Victory cropping plan.  I want to as much as possible follow the plan on my plot so have been researching like mad and found some rather useful resources that will help me on my way.

The first is this delightful blog https://wartimegardening.wordpress.com/ .  Looks like someone had my idea too!  And I am working my way through all the posts to absorb as much info as I can.  It also lead me to my new favourite purchase Dig On For Victory by C.H. Middleton, my new hero.  This is not to be confused with the Twigs Way book the Allotment and Garden Guide, which I already had.  Dig On For Victory is more in depth and has weekly advise not monthly.  Together the two books will help me through.

The other new resource I found was the Wartime Kitchen and Garden TV series with Ruth Mott and Harry Dodson.  They are my new favourite people, especially Harry; he is like the Granddad I never had.  The TV program and accompanying book are quite dated now-a-days, but the info is invaluable.  I suppose it is an early 90s version of the series that historian Ruth Goodman took part in a few years ago, Wartime Farm.  I think the valuable difference is that Granddad Harry and Ruth Mott actually lived through the war, so many of the anecdotes and information are first hand.  Of course after you tube watching the entire series I had to buy the book.  I love the ‘Kitchen’ or cooking side of things too.  Because after all that is why one grows veggies, to eat them!  So I may try out some of the less weird recipes.

I am sure you like me are itching to get out into the garden and get sowing.  If you’re lucky then you have a greenhouse and have already started.  But I am holding on for more favourable weather.  *Greenhouse update* I have a very exciting Monday!  Tomorrow not only is my new greenhouse being delivered, but I am getting a new puppy!!!  I don’t know which I’m more excited about!  I may take a picture of both of them, the pup in the greenhouse :).  Which reminds me, I have just signed up to Instagram so if you want gardening pics as well as puppy pics then come on over and follow me 🙂 @modernlandgirl1945 

Until next time, Happy Gardening xx

One thought on “Potato Pete

  1. First earlies on the go here, can’t remember the variety, Scottish ones I think. Last year i had 2nd earlies in a raised bed, did fine, not a huge crop. I had main crop spuds in old plastic manure sacks, about 15 of them with 2 or 3 seed spuds in each one. They grew away quite happily in there and it was a job to keep them earthed up. I ended up using grass clippings, shredded paper, partly composted stuff from the heap, anything to avoid having to buy bags of compost. Worked a treat although I did need to water them thoroughly once a week. Got a pretty good crop, about a potato sacks worth. Lasted us a few weeks. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

