The Plot

Hello my lovely readers!  Nice to see you back again on this rather neglected little blog.  Last week I rather excitedly blogged that I am back with a vengeance and ready and raring to go.  My sister has rather kindly (and very out of character-ly) donated her garden to my vegetable growing needs.  As I said last week, my parents and I rather suspect it is so she doesn’t have to mow the lawn and maintain it any more.

Since last post I have been excitedly planning away my plot, purchased some seeds and some much needed equipment, and bought my first adult purchase.  A greenhouse.  Yes sir-ee not a car, or a house, a greenhouse!  And might I say, I am very excited about it.  It’s only a tidler 4′ x 6′, but it should do the job just fine.

img_3795

During the week, on a rather miserable February day, I took to the garden and photographed and measured the plot.  I also took a couple of panoramic views to try and better get a sense of the space, but they were a little shaky as it was so cold – and I wasn’t about to stand there taking a proper picture in that temperature!  We literally live opposite, in that bungalow with the dormer you can see in the back of the picture.

Garden Plot 1.jpg

It’s quite a blank canvas really.  I have aprox 10m x 9m, but there are a couple of pear trees and shrubs already in the garden, as well as a shed and seat thing, so it takes out a little of the space.  Then there is a paved area with a gazebo and several tub planters that I can always use.

IMG_3802 (1).JPG

I quite like the idea of incorporating the arbor seat, somewhere to sit and take in the magnificence of my vegetables.  So I am now researching bed sizes and how many rows of which vegetables I want.  I want to try and stay as faithful as I can to the Dig For Victory plot plan, although I obviously don’t have a 10 rod plot, or even a 5 rod plot *sad face*.  So there will be deviance’s.  But hey if it worked in the 1940’s, it should work for me right?

digforvictory1_2-3

Until next time, happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

