Simple Kale Pesto

One of my most recent discoveries is the wonders of Kale Pesto.  I am a HUGE Basil Pesto fan.  In fact my favourite meal ever is Pasta Pesto (is the besto).  I admit I started on shop bought ‘Sacla’ pesto and packet dried pasta.  I moved a little more into the shop bought fresh egg pasta and fresh pesto, which was a delight to discover.  But I am sure you will agree with me that my defining moment in the Pasta Pesto journey was the home made pasta and home made pesto discovery.  Once you’ve home made both pasta and pesto, you can no longer tolerate the jarred variety and dried pasta.  If I’m lazy – which let’s face it I am – the shop bought fresh stuff will satisfy my craving, but home made is a totally different eating experience altogether.

Faced with a glut of Kale as my Kale was starting to go to seed, I have now discovered the joys of Kale Pesto.  Like it’s basil counterpart, it still has basil in it, just in less volume and with more of the green coming from the Kale.  Honestly I can say that Kale pesto is a revelation.  Yes it was less basil-ly than traditional basil pesto, but it did not taste cabbagey or brassica like, like I had anticipated.  I’m not sure if it was the amount of garlic I added (Vampires beware!), but it was like a basil pesto with an added ‘pep’ to it.  I can almost 100% guarantee that children would have no clue that it was Kale pesto and as thus good for them.  Swap it and see if they notice!

Anyway I decided to make some up in real time, in a little video I made to show you all just how quick and easy it is to make.  My first video!  So be kind.

 

Ingredients

About 1/2 cup Kale (I used about 5 small Kale leaves, stalks and all)
1/4 cup of basil leaves
1/2 cup of Walnuts
1/2 cup of Parmesan
1 clove of Garlic
Pinch of salt and pepper
1/2 to 3/4 cup Olive Oil

I got the original recipe here: http://theseasidebaker.com/walnut-kale-basil-pesto/ but I did tweak the recipe a little (I didn’t bother cooking the Kale first as I prefer the taste raw).  I also learned that I am very forgetful and make funny faces whilst concentrating!

Anyway I hope you like the recipe and try it out with your lovely home grown kale.  I made pasta pesto with mine.  I also discovered and named a new vegetable.  I call it ‘Sprouting Kale’.

Kale Pasta Pesto

You see I ‘over wintered’ my kale because it was quite small.  And well it remained quite small, but again started to grow in about March time.  But then it started growing little sprouting broccoli type stems.  Afraid it was turning to seed I decided to pick them and they taste delicious!  I boiled a few along with the pasta and coated in the kale pesto.  It was absolutely delicious.  So yeah sprouting kale, you heard it here first!

Sprouting Kale
Sprouting Kale shown here to the right 🙂

Until next time, happy gardening!

2 thoughts on “Simple Kale Pesto

Leave a Reply

