Green Tomato Chutney

Well my friends, the advice on storing tomatoes from my book “Allotment and Garden Guide” by Twigs Way has only gone and worked hasn’t it.  In that the covered tomatoes have trapped in the ethylene and they have turned a rosey red tomato colour at last!

Red Tomatoes

There were a few that turned bad that I had to remove, but on the whole they are doing well and steadily turning that beautiful deep red so associated with sweet juicy tomatoes.

I do still however have quite a few green ones, so I decided to cook up a batch of Green Tomato Chutney.  A couple of years ago my mum made THE most delicious green tomato chutney, but alas she couldn’t remember where she got the recipe.  So I turned to my trusty Marguerite Patton preserving book.

Green Tomato Chutney 2

I’m sure you are used to me saying this by now, buuuuuut I tweaked the recipe a little.  I like my chutney nice and tangy so I reduced the amount of sugar, remembering my rule of not less than 60% of the stated amount (so it still preserves and doesn’t spoil).  You will need:

450g/1lb Finely chopped up Onions
300ml/1/2 pint White Malt Vinegar
900g/2lbs Green Tomatoes
225g/8oz Cooking Apples (peeled and cored then chopped up)
1 tsp Pickling Spices
350g/12oz Soft Brown Sugar (I actually used 8oz)
Salt and Pepper to taste

You simmer the onions in half the vinegar for 10 minutes.  Add all other ingredients and simmer on a low heat stirring occasionally until the mixture has reached a thick jam like consistency.  Remove the pickling spices and spoon into sterilised jars before sealing down.  Et voila!  Green tomato chutney; guess what my extended family are getting for Chrimbo 😉

Green Tomato Chutney

This recipe actually made another 500ml jar and a bit extra on top of these four smaller jars.  And I have to say it was scrummy on Mrs Crimbles cheesy biscuits with strong cheddar cheese.  Perfect for boxing day!

Until next time, Happy Gardening!

One thought on “Green Tomato Chutney

  1. How inspiring! I’ve been terribly lazy with my green tomatoes since we haven’t had frost yet to give me a kick up the but to get a move on and pick them.

    I’m so glad your green Chutney worked out. Was it lovely and sweet? I’m so worried about the end results! X

    Like

Leave a Reply

