Nasturtium Pancakes for Sunday Brunch

Hello all and I hope you are having a lovely Sunday gardening and tending to your veggies.  Today I thought I would share a lovely recipe that I made for my Sunday brunch.  I found this recipe whilst researching nasturtium recipes and just had to try it as it sounded so delicious.

Nasturtium

My nasturtium flowers from my edible flower basket have been blooming for a couple of days now, so I wanted to use the beautiful flowers in a recipe.  I found ‘Nasturtium and Ricotta Hot Cakes with Honeyed Strawberry and Pistachio Salad‘.  Perfect!

Nasturtiums have a lovely peppery mustardy type taste.  Both the flowers and the leaves are edible and are often used as a substitute or accompaniment to watercress in a salad.  But I was intrigued by a sweet recipe.  Here is the rather pretty result.

Nasturtium pancakes

Doesn’t it look amazing!!!  I did (as usual) tweak the recipe a little.  I had no idea what the hell verjuice is, but I assume it is some sort of sharp citrussy juice to contrast the sweetness of the honey.  So I used lime juice and it was very tasty.  I can’t say that I particularly tasted the pepperyness of the nasturtium petals in the pancakes, so maybe if you try this add about triple the amount of petals.  I assume that it would go quite nicely with the sweetness of the honeyed strawberries as often fancy pants restaurants concoct dishes with black pepper and strawberries.

On a side note, you can see from the first picture in this post that I have a little problem with black fly on my nasturtiums.  Boy do they love a nasturtium.  I took to them with a water spray with the nozzle on a thin spray setting and blasted the bajeebus out of them to knock them off.  It was quite effective!!!  Buuuuut I want to discourage them so I have been playing around with a home made remedy.  I found a recipe HERE from Green Lizard’s Blog.  I boiled up some thyme in water and added a little ground cinnamon (I didn’t have cinnamon oil).  Once it was cooled I sprayed it in a mist all over my nasturtium and borage plants that are plagued with the little feckers.  And I have to say that it has definitely decreased the numbers a little.  I am going to stick with it spraying twice a day and see if I can totally rectify the problem.  They have made my borage plants look a little sorry for themselves so fingers crossed!

Until next time, happy gardening!

2 thoughts on “Nasturtium Pancakes for Sunday Brunch

Leave a Reply

