Grow Your Own – Trust Me

Honestly people, I know I am probably preaching to the converted here, but growing your own veg is SO amazingly rewarding.  I remember when I was a little un I hated veggies, particularly broccoli.  But now nurturing and growing my own I am a total veggie convert.

I have long been a believer that organic veg and meat tastes so much better than mass produced.  Call me middle class, gullible or whatever.  But your own grown fruit and veg tastes like organic but on steroids.  I think the cooking has something to do with the overall taste, but the fact that I know what has gone into my own grown coupled with the fact that it is so fresh has a big influence too.  I pick my fruit and veg on the day that I am going to eat it, so between the time it has been harvested to the time I eat it, is probably only 6 hours at the very most.

Anyway enough babbling about the virtues of home grown.  My purple sprouting has been indeed sprouting and I have been enjoying lots of broccoli based meals.  The latest of which is this:

Purple Sprouting Broccoli and Wensleydale Tart

Wensleydale Tart

I got the recipe HERE, buuuuut I’m not a follow a recipe kind of gal.  I didn’t have a few of the ingredients and tweaked a few to suit what I like.  So my changes were:

– I used shop bought shortcrust pastry – who can be arsed to make their own!
– I used only 3 eggs (missed out the extra 2 yolks as I had no use for the whites and it seems a little wasteful!)
– Didn’t have any cream cheese so left that out
– added the zest of one lemon to the mixture as I had used shop bought pastry and saw the pastry contained this.  I love the zing of lemon and thought it would go really well with the broccoli
– added some chopped up broccoli greens that I had leftover from harvesting.  Waste not, want not!  I wilted them in butter for a few seconds on a high heat before adding to the mix
– Made one big tart instead of individual tarts – I like a higher ratio of filling to pastry and my small tart cases don’t take much filling in them

I served this scrummy tart with a leafy green salad (again used more of the leaves of the broccoli as they are scrumptious raw as kale is) with a zingy lemon and extra virgin olive oil dressing, and boiled new potatoes with butter melted over and chopped up chives sprinkled on top.

Until next time, happy gardening!

2 thoughts on “Grow Your Own – Trust Me

  1. Sounds lovely! I love to make tarts and quiches as you really can experiment with flavours! Looks delicious and I’m sure it tasted good too! Will definitely give it a go!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

