Rocket (Wo)Man

With the start of April, I am reliably informed (by the BBC food website) that April is the start of the Rocket season.

Rocket, or Arugula as our dear ‘Murican friends call it, is one of those amazingly healthy ingredients.  As with all leafy greens they contain very small amounts of calories, meaning you can safely binge on them without adding an ounce to your hips – unfortunately unlike our cakey, doughnutty friends :(.  The green leaves of wonder are full to the brim with anti-oxidents, vitamins and minerals to help keep us in tip top healthy condition.  Rocket is especially rich in Vitamins A, C and K and are an excellent source of iron and folates – so are great for expectant mothers.  So get eating those salad rocket leaves people, to get your healthy glow going!

Look how much my rocket has grown in just three weeks!
Look how much my rocket has grown in just three weeks!

Rocket is one of my absolute favourite salad leaves.  I just love the peppery taste in a salad, or even just eaten on its own.  So of course when I first started my veggie garden I had to include rocket, as well as the fact that it is really expensive to buy on it’s own in the supermarket.  Planted about three weeks ago now, my rocket has well and truly settled in, and I am just starting to pick their yummy leaves so that they will go on producing lots of rocket for me throughout the Spring and Summer.  So as I have an abundance, it got me thinking about the different ways that I can use rocket other than just in a salad.  Don’t get me wrong, I love a good rocket salad, but there must be other ways to use it surely.

So here is the first recipe I have experimented with my own home grown rocket.

Mmmmmmmm gotta love a nice cheesy topping!
Mmmmmmmm gotta love a nice cheesy topping!

Crab and Rocket Cannelloni – Source Australian Table
Serves 4 (or 2 very greedy/hungry people)

INGREDIENTS

225g Fresh Crab Meat (I used canned white crab meat)
250g Ricotta Cheese
100g Grated Parmesan Cheese
Juice and finely grated zest of 1 lemon
Dash of Tabasco (I left this out)
4 fresh lasagne sheets cut in half (I only used three cut in half as there are only 3 of us, giving 2 cannelloni each which was just the right amount!)
bunch of rocket
300ml double cream

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180C or 160C fan. Grease a large ovenproof dish.
  • Place crab, ricotta, 1/2 of the parmesan, the lemon rind and juice and Tabasco in a bowl. Season to taste and mix well.
  • Place lasagne pieces on a flat surface and top with rocket leaves. Divide crab mixture along centre of each piece of lasagne. Roll to enclose filling. Place in prepared dish, seam-side down.
  • Pour cream over cannelloni and top with remaining parmesan. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until golden. Serve immediately.

IMG_1105

IMG_1104

I served mine with a green salad – unfortunately not home grown as my salad leaves are still teeny tiny babies.  I did a simple 1 part lemon juice to 3 parts extra virgin olive oil dressing just to zing it up a little.  This is a really nice spring or summer dish as it is nice and light and has a fresh taste.  I imagine it would be perfect served with a delightfully crisp dry white wine, chilled to perfection.

*Update on my gardening*.  Twice now my little cheapo greenhouse thing has been blown over by the wind.  It is now strapped to the gazebo we have on our decking so it can’t blow over, but it means my lovingly tended to seeds have gone to pastures new.  I was away for the weekend when it happened but my parents tried to save a few seedlings, but I fear most have been blown away.  Back to the start it is for most so I will have to re-sow some of the items!

One thought on “Rocket (Wo)Man

Leave a Reply

